The second round of the 2013 eni FIM Superbike World Championship took place at Aragon, Spain, halfway between Madrid and Barcelona in the hilly countryside.  The circuit is long, undulating and technical, with passing being difficult.  Despite this, the riders enjoy the challenge.  What surprised many on race day, though, was the number of technical failures in the races…


Race 1 saw joint world championship leader Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) blast into the lead and begin to pull out a gap over polesitter Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) and Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team).  On lap 4, though, it was all over for Laverty, as the Irishman’s mount picked up exhaust valve motor issues and he coasted into pit lane.  One lap later Sykes, who had inherited the lead from Laverty, retired with electrical maladies!  This left Davies to scamper off to the chequered flag and claim victory over Guintoli, who reclaimed second position in the dying stages of the race after Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK) lost a few places when his machine hit a false neutral in the dying stages of the race.  Third place was disputed between Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing Aprilia), Melandri, Jonathan Rea (PATA Honda World Superbike Team) and Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team).  Baz fell away in the closing stages of the race, while Giugliano ran out of fuel on the final lap while in third position.  This left Melandri to claim third ahead of Rea and Baz, with Jules Cluzel (Fixi Crescent Suzuki) finishing a fighting sixth.


Laverty’s race in Race 2 lasted until the second corner, losing the back end of his machine before the front end tucked in, leaving Sykes to gain the lead.  The Englishman’s lead was short-lived, however, and Davies surged to the front on the second lap and was never headed.  Guintoli overcame Sykes in a personal duel for second position, while Giugliano finished a fine fourth after his Race 1 misfortune.  Melandri was a bit more subdued in Race 2 as he finished fifth ahead of Baz and Cluzel.


SBK Race 1 result

SBK Race 2 result

Rider standings

Constructor standings

1.  Davies (BMW)

1.  Davies (BMW)

1.  Guintoli             85

1.  Aprilia                  90

2.  Guintoli (Aprilia)

2.  Guintoli (Aprilia)

2.  Davies                63    

2.  BMW                   79

3.  Melandri (BMW)

3.  Sykes (Kawasaki)

3.  Laverty              45

3.  Kawasaki             49

4.  Rea (Honda)

4.  Giugliano (Aprilia)

4.  Melandri           43

4.  Honda                  37

5.  Baz (Kawasaki)

5.  Melandri (BMW)

5.  Fabrizio             42

5.  Suzuki                  35


Fabien Foret (MAHI Racing Team India) came back from a poor start to win the World Supersport event at Aragon after an eventful race.  Michael van der Mark (PATA Honda World Supersport Team) took the holeshot and led for two laps before Sam Lowes (Yakhnich Yamaha) took over at the front.  He led for four laps before being overhauled by fellow Englishman Kev Coghlan (Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team) who led sensationally for almost two laps before dropping his machine!  Coghlan managed to remount and finish in 13th place.


Foret and Lowes spent the remainder of the race sizing each other up for the lead, before drama struck the Yakhnich Yamaha rider when his machine ground to a halt on the final lap!  This left Foret clear to take victory from van der Mark, with Luca Scassa (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) finishing a fine third after having to stave off the intentions of Alessio Antonelli (Team Goeleven Kawasaki) and Riccardo Russo (Puccetti Racing Kawasaki).  Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Honda World Supersport Team) completed the top six finishers.


Sheridan “Shez Show” Morais (PTR Honda) had a sad end to a weekend that showed much promise.  After qualifying a magnificent fourth, the diminutive South African made a tardy start, only to be collected from behind at Turn 16 on the first lap, ending any chance of a good showing.  Fellow South African Mathew Scholtz (Suriano Suzuki) didn’t fare much better: he struggled from his 25th starting position to crash during the race. He managed to remount and finish in 21st position, a lap adrift from the winner.


Supersport results

Rider standings

Constructor standings

1.  Foret (Kawasaki)

1.  Foret                                     38

1.  Kawasaki                              50

2.  van der Mark (Honda)

2.  van der Mark                      36

2.  Honda                                   36

3.  Scassa (Kawasaki)

3.  Scassa                                   26

3.  Yamaha                                28

4.  Antonelli (Kawasaki)

4.  Sofuoglu                              25

4.  MV Augusta                          7

5.  Russo (Kawasaki)

5.  Antonelli                              22

5.  Suzuki                                     4


Reigning Superstock 1000 champion Sylvain Barrier (BMW Motorrad GoldBet STK) began his title defence in fine style by blasting to victory at the opening round of the Superstock 1000 championship at Aragon.  The Frenchman overtook erstwhile leader and ex-Superstock 1000 champion Niccolo Canepa (Barni Racing Ducati) and was never headed.  Leandro Mercado (Pedercini Kawasaki) finished a strong third ahead of Jeremy Guarnoni (MRS Kawasaki) and Eddi La Marra (Barni Ducati).


Reigning South African Superbike champion Greg Gildenhuys (BMW Motorrad GoldBet STK) began his Superstock 1000 campaign strongly by running in the top six, before his gearlever dislodged from his machine and he limped to the chequered flag in tenth place.  South African rival David “McFlash” McFadden (EAB Ten Kate Junior Team Honda) had a tougher time, still adjusting to new machinery and he brought it home in 11th position from 15th on the grid – the first Honda rider to the finish.


Superstock 1000 results

Rider standings

Constructor standings

1.  Barrier (BMW)

1.  Barrier                                  25

1.  BMW                                    25

2.  Canepa (Ducati)

2.  Canepa                                 20

2.  Ducati                                   20

3.  Mercado (Kawasaki)

3.  Mercado                              16

3.  Kawasaki                              16

4.  Guarnoni (Kawasaki)

4.  Guarnoni                             13

4.  Honda                                     5

5.  La Marra (Ducati)

5.  La Marra                              11

5.  Suzuki                                     1


The third round of the 2013 eni FIM Superbike World Championship takes place at Assen, the Netherlands, on 26 to 28 April.


Nick van der Meulen