Independance Day Power Series will light up Killarney


Cape Town - Just 14 days after midwinter, the second half of the 2019 motorsport season at Killarney International Raceway gets underway with the Independence Day Power Series sponsored by Wingfield Motors on Saturday 6 July. It's themed, of course, for the national day of the United States, the Fourth of July, with lots of red, white and blue – and the sound of big American V8 engines in many of the categories.

Once again the programme is full, with races for the Mikes Place Clubman Saloons, Burly Pro GTi Challenge, Millstock Classic and Shatterfix Fine Cars, V8 Masters and Makita Supercars, Pirelli Sports and GT Cars and Formula Libre Single-seaters.

Fans of two-wheeled action will be treated to three classes of motorcycle races: the Powersport formula races, the Clubmans 'run wot ya brung' series and the 280km/h RST Superbikes, lapping in a fraction over 70 seconds and cornering at lean angles that seemingly redefine the laws of physics.

The Mikes Place Clubman Saloons have again attracted the largest field with 43 entries, ranging from Danie van Niekerk's hissing, snarling Wingfield Motors E36 to a couple of 1.8 litre Golf Mk1s at the other end of the pack – but everybody has someone to race with and the dicing will be intense throughout the field. If there is anybody Van Niekerk has to worry about, however, it is Clint Rennard's G&A Golf 2L and the giant-killing New Engineering Golf Mk1 of Michael Le Sueur.

The Burly Pro GTi Challenge is, of course, all about front-wheel drive VW power; the cars are very evenly matched and the racing is robust, to put it politely – GTi Challengers say theirs is a contact sport! Look for Nian du Toit (Allied Fibreglass Jetta 3 2L) and Christopher Swart (Village Paint and Hardware Jetta 2 2L) to set the pace.

The big question in the Millstock Classic and Shatterfix Fine Car races is who will keep Franco Donadio and the all-conquering Harkers Escort honest – and in the absence of an entry from Charles Arton (Datsun 240Z), who narrowly beat Donadio last time out it will be up to Louis Powell and the Hoosier Escort to take the fight to Donadio.

With 27 entries this will be another crowded race; expect with action throughout the field, especially among the leading Fine Cars, where Arnold Lambert (VW Jetta) and Robert Toscano (Techoparts MX5) will be at it again, taking up where they left off at the last meeting – less than a second apart.

For many fans the rumble of the big-inch Ford engines in the V8 masters will be the highlight of this Independence Day meeting. This is likely to come down to a shootout between Fabio Tafani, Richard Schreuder and Sean Moore – but don't ask us to predict the order. Likewise, the one-make Makita Supercars, running with the V8 Masters, will probably be led by Ryan McCarthy and Andrew Moffit – but look out for dark horse Stuart Spooner who could, just possibly, upset the Supercar establishment.

Craig Jarvis' Maui Motorhomes Ginetta G57 is in a class of its own in Pirelli Sports and GT racing, but well worth seeing for the incredible speeds it achieves – it holds the ultimate lap record at Killarney International Raceway with a time of 1m06.745sec – while the best of the rest are likely to be Steve Humble in the Harp Mallock 14B and Maarten Prins' Porsche GT3 Cup.

The same situation applies in the open-wheeler Formula Libre races, with Dee-Jay Booysen starting as clear favourite in his Dico RM08. There is likely, however, to be a major dogfight for second between Sean le Riche and Julian van der Watt, each in a Ford Zetec-powered Mygale.

Hayden Jonas and the WP Motors YZF R1 have won every RST Suzuki South Superbike race at Killarney so far this season, while arch-rival Ronald Slamet (P/M Motorsport R1) has been always in the frame but never a winner. Will this be the day when he breaks Jonas' winning streak, or will Trevor Westman on the Mad Macs ZX-10R finally deliver on the potential that's always there for another monumental win? You'll just have to be there to see for yourself.

Kewyn Snyman set a new lap record for 600cc motorcycles of 1min 12.596sec last time out on the Hillbilly R6 – expect to see him mixing it a with the second tier of litre-class bikes. Also in the frame, ready to pounce should Snyman make the slightest error, will be Jared Schultz on the ASAP World R6.

These two are as fast or faster than the litre-class SuperMasters riders; there we are likely to see Malcolm Rapson and his family-funded Kawasaki ZX-10R fending of the attentions of Rob Cragg (Mad Macs ZX-10R) and Quintin Ebden.

Lubabalo Ntisana scored an epic maiden win on the LB Autos ZX-10R in the Clubman Class at the previous round; get ready for a three-way way fight – on identical machines! - with Wayne Arendse (Kawasaki ZX-10R) and Sean Mackrill (GFP Lighting ZX-10R). Add to that a dark horse in the shape of veteran 'Danie van Killarney' Maritz, temporarily out of retirement on the Suzuki Pre-Sling with which he won the 1987 Western Province championship, and you have the makings of a thriller.

While Chris Williams is unlikely to be challenged for line honours in the RST Trac Mac Powersport races, the Powersport 300 Class is likely to provide the closest racing of the day with Tony Sterianos (RST RC30), Slade van Niekerk (Yamaha R3)and Jason Linaker on the Samurai Ninja 300 fighting for class honours.

Each Power Series event provides a whole day of motorsport-themed enjoyment for the whole family. Access to the pits paddock is free all day, so you can see for yourself just what it takes to prepare a car for the racetrack, and the famous Fan Walk brings spectators down onto the circuit during the lunch break to meet the competitors in one of the categories (a different one each time!) and get some unforgettable selfies.

Fine food and ice-cold drinks are available at the revamped, upmarket Trackside Pub and Grill, upstairs at the Clubhouse, light snacks and even colder drinks at the New Pits Lounge and the Karting Clubhouse.

Watch all the action, captured by cameras all around the circuit, as well as live timing, on TV screens on the Clubhouse Balcony and in the New Pits Lounge, then hop on the free Hyundai Shuttle and watch it live from vantage points all round the circuit.

There are pedal karts, jungle gyms and more for petrolheads-in-training, marshalled by trained minders, at the Clubhouse Kiddies Korner and below the New Pits Lounge.

Parents of toddlers are welcomed to the Kiddies Korner nursery, where you'll find fridges to keep juice boxes cold, nappy-changing and breastfeeding facilities, as well as toilets and wash-up facilities for running repairs.

Round 5 of the Power Series sponsored by Wingfield Motors will be run at Killarney International Raceway on Saturday 6 July. Gates open at 7:30am, racing begins at 10:00am. Book at Computicket ( or pay at the gate: Adults R80, scholars under 16 R20 and children under 12 free.