Killarney Regionals Saturday


Qualifying from 8am, Racing from 10am, 16 exciting events for cars and bikes.
R50 per person, under 16 R10, under 12 FREE


To keep our spectators updated during qualifying there will be a commentator announcing the info in the morning and a spectator grid walk.


We are excited to be introducing the grid walk during the lunch break at our race meetings, starting on Saturday 6th April 2013. Over the rest of the season, each category will be given the opportunity for a grid walk, this Saturday being for the Classic cars.

The cars will form up on the grid at the start of the lunch break and then spectators including children will be allowed onto the grid to meet and chat to the drivers, get autographs, take photographs and to view the cars from up close. You will get the opportunity to see these local racing stars without them being hidden by helmets etc. With a full field including several new and rare entries on the grid, this is an opportunity not to be missed.



No tyre warmers may be plugged into the Killarney electricity supply anywhere on the premises.  Tyre warmers can only be used with generators.



-          Entry approaching from the South:

o   Turn off from bus lane via temporary strip into old main entrance.

o   No exit from this point.

o   No entry if approaching from the North.


-          Entry approaching from the North:

o   Entry to circuit will be in Container Road.

o   No entry at new entrance.

o   No entry at old main entrance.

o   You may exit the circuit through this gate.


-          New “entrance” opposite Silverstone Road.

o   For this Saturday will be exit only.

-          MotoX gate will be open as per normal for entry and exit.


With top drivers and an entry of such high quality it surpasses even that of many national meetings, Saturday’s second round of the Western Cape title chase at Killarney has the potential to become the most exciting regional shootout ever staged in these parts.

Beginning with the Mutlu Batteries / Execuline Classic Cars where nostalgia is going to blend with expectation when a pair of giant 7=litre Ford Galaxies in the hands of Fred Phillips and Ferdi van Niekerk (Snr), line up against Robin Forbes’ Chev Corvette Sting Ray, the Chev Camaro CanAm of Michele Lupini and a Ford Capri Perana V8 driven by former watersport champ Peter Lindenberg.

Their chances of victory however depend on how they measure up against the established challenge from Neil Hawkins (Ford Escort RS2000), Chris Carolin (Mazda Capella rotary) and the aggressive Martin Richards in his Datsun 140Z.

While the Beemers – with assistance from Audi – have been the traditional front runners in the Midas Clubman category, there was a surprise during the first round when they were all outqualified by Brennan Green’s externally innocent  Golf GTi turbo. Although the Volksie was unable to complete either of the races that day it is going to be interesting to see how Green shapes against BMW hard men like Danie van Niekerk, Gavin Cerff, Ebrahim Levy and Truspe Schoeman, on Saturday.

Then the reappearance of the flamboyant former stock car ace Zack Groenewald whose Chev de Ville V8 is a refugee from the Classic Car ranks, is expected to add even more spice to the Midas mix.

With entries from drivers like Johan Engelbrecht (GT2 R), Craig Jarvis (GT3 Cup), Matt Kreeve (GT3 Cup), Dawie Joubert (GT3) and the versatile Keith Fourie (GT3 RS}, the Big Foot Express / Execuline Sports and GT category might be expected to become a Porsche putsch, were it not for the presence of the deep thinking Steve Humble in an as yet unproven Honda powered Juno CN.  

Meanwhile the big Masters V8’s will be contesting the third round of their title chase after completing the second leg at Zwartkops near Pretoria, last month. And with reigning and former champions Fabio Tafani and Marcel Angel level pegging there with a victory and a second place apiece, Saturday’s battle should be another bare knuckle affair. Others to consider include Charles Arton who is not far behind in third place, while the meteoric Jurgen zu Bentheim was in pole position on the grid for the first round.

With a dearth of class A entries, the GTi Challenge may provide an even closer finish as Mario Busi, Peet van der Walt and the Du Toits, Shane and Craig (who are not related), battle it out.     

While champion Ray Cooper’s Escort GT leads a variety of models in the Charl Electrical Eng. Fine Car class, the seven Porsches driven by Geoff Bihl and Haydn Hoad among others, are expected to dominate the race to the flag.

Finally, the Makita Supercar election sees veteran Richard Schreuder, Brad Wadeley, Ernest Stier, Dayne Angel and Andrew Moffitt all canvassing votes for the position of podium chairman.

The first of the 16 races on the programme is due off at 10.00, after the final qualifying sessions. Admission is R50 for adults and R10 for scholars under 16. There is no charge for kiddies under 12.