No 3 for Firfirey Brothers

The 10th Lions Vredendal Gymkhana was hot in more than one way. With temperatures up to 34ºC and nowhere to hide the 38 teams present had their work cut out to remain cool as the easy to memorise route proved to be pretty challenging on the limit.

Rafique and Natheer Firfirey really pushed as hard as they could and the silver AHI Racing class G Mini Cooper S 1600 Turbo netted a third consecutive victory to really send the message to the opposition that they would be wise to step up their own challenge. Fastest Time of the Day demoralizingly quick.

Fanie and Zak du Toit were defending their championship points lead and were quite ecstatic about their second place overall having given the FM Civils class A Mazda Rustler LDV 2.0 16v a real workout from the very first run.

Izak van Zyl Jnr and Dewald van der Merwe looked menacing in the Dynotech class G VW Golf MkII GTi 2.0 Turbo 16v but had to settle for third place. Swopping between the fwd VW and rwd Toyota as though it is the most natural thing to do Izak also netted the Most Consistent award for the day with his two fastest times split by just 0.02sec.

Expect this combination to return with some intent on 14 November 2015 when the 27th UNIREF Club Mykonos Gymkhana closes the 2015 Witzenberg Motorklub Gymkhana Championship at Langebaan on the Cape West Coast.

Natheer and rafique Firfirey won the 9th Lions Vredendal Gymkhana in their light blue AHI Racing Supercharged class G mini Cooper S 1600 but despite their best efforts they finished just shy of the podium in fourth overall.

Pierre du Plessis and Walter van Dyk topped the Stoor entries in their Du Plessis Auto class B Toyota Conquest 1800 16v. The Louis Snyman engine certainly sounds great and the little Conquest is most certainly handling better with each outing.

Dewald van der Merwe and Izak van Zyl Snr showed that there is still life in the senior citizens by placing the Dynotech class G VW Golf MkII GTi Turbo 2.0 16v in an impressive sixth overall. 

The little 1976 WDT class F Datsun 1400 GX DeLuxe Sedan of Kobus Wilson Jnr and Werner McDonald rubbing shoulders with the more powerful entries but lacking the punch to finish higher than seventh overall. Still a magnificent effort by the popular combination.

Walter van Dyk and Pierre du Plessis continue to impress in their class G VW Golf MkI Turbo 2.0 16v. Consistency to match their pace giving them better results on each event. Jacques du Plessis and Kobus Wilson Jnr are finding it difficult to latch onto the consistency required but the 2.0 20v engine built by Serge Damseaux certainly turns the Du Plessis Auto class A Toyota Conquest into a little monster. Once they learn how to put this power on the road the Conquest will most certainly not be found down in ninth overall position.

Father and son, Anton and André Smit, enjoyed another entertaining outing in their Trysom class F Datsun-Toyota LDV 1600 16v and finished a very credible tenth overall. Jan van der Vyver and Liezel Oosthuizen another team that were well satisfied with 11th Overall in the rapid Race-Tech class D VW Golf MkI Chico 1.4i. Jan almost down to the same weight as his very lightweight navigator!

Masood Dangor and his sister, Aatera Firfirey, finishing 12th overall in the AHI Racing class G Supercharged Cabriolet Mini Cooper S 1600 with Morné Roux and his sister, Liezel Oosthuizen, 13th overall in their class A Mazda 323 EGi 2.0 16v and the always consistent Johann Zulch and Cobus Viola 14th overall in their Ceres Toyota backed class E BMW E30 325iM.

Newcomers, Francois Mostert and Marius Ellis, certainly did themselves proud on their gymkhana debut and the class A Opel Astra 200i finished in an impressive 15th overall. They were followed home by the ever enthusiastic Aatera Firfirey and Masood Dangor in the AHI Racing class G Supercharged Cabriolet Mini Cooper S 1600. With roles reversed the newcomers added 17th overall to their tally as Marius Ellis and Francois Mostert brought their class A Opel Kadett GSi home unscathed.

Aatera Firfirey and Liezel Oosthuizen won the al ladies category in their AHI Racing Supercharged Cabriolet Mini Cooper S 1600 but then with roles reversed Liezel Oosthuizen and Aatera Firfirey had evryone sit up and take note of the impressive times they achieved in the standard Toyota Yaris 1.3. In fact they proved very consistent and followed themselves home as a capacity class D entry with the same Yaris.

Alexander van Dyk and Tony van Heerden smoked their way home to 21st overall in the twin turbo class G Toyota lexus V8 4.0 powered Pipecar and proved that they too are starting to come to grips with their impressive steed. In stark contrast hennie Hoffmeyer and Morné Roux planted their stock standard class C Nissan Sentra 1600 22nd with the monster Pipecar 23rd. Tony van Heerden and Alexander van Dyk swopping seats.

Jaco Smith and Marius Visagie took sweet revenge in the annual Vredendal Toyota challenge when they achieved 24th overall in the hard working class C Toyota Etios 1500.

How does one describe the performance of izak van Zyl Jnr and Snr in the 4.0 V8 Lexus powered class G Toyota Corolla RWD? Simply mind blowing would not come close as they navigate the entire course sideways. It would be fair to say the only time they drive straight would be when they change direction. Without any doubt the Most Spectacular Driver of the Day. And then he finishes 25th overall too.

Jonathan Swart had Werner McDonald as navigator in his ex-Roy Laing class E BMW E30 325i. He still preferred not to listen to his navigator and 26th overall was the result. Jonathan awarded the Boo-Boo of the Day award for his efforts.

Dewald Goosen and Johann Compion certainly did not look like the same team they were earlier this year and failed to qualify as finishers in the Vredendal Toyota Etios 1500.

In the single seater category it was business as usual for Kobus Wilson jnr in the WDT Datsun GX DeLuxe Sedan 1.4i with Dewald van der Merwe keeping him very honest in the Dynotech class G VW Golf MkII GTi Turbo 2.0 16v. Jacques du Plessis claimed third in his Du Plessis Auto Toyota Conquest 2.0 20v with Jan van der Vyver a fighting fourth in the Race-Tech VW Golf MkI Chico 1.4i.

Swatting flies with the side windows Izak van Zyl jnr was a very spectacular fifth in class with the Dynotech Toyota Corolla 4.0 V8 but in his case nobody even noticed the time.

As always Nico van Zyl and the Lions Vredendal deserve special mention for their stirling work in making the Matzikama events the success they are. Support comes in the form of Vredendal Toyota, Matzikama Municipality, Matzikama SAPS and Traffic Services, EDK Besigheidsmasjiene, Maskam Hotel, Vreden Dal Hotel, Kat-ma-Koep Guest House, Koelbly Coca-Cola and Radio Namakwaland 93.4Fm. Jacques Thysen deserves a special mention as he is always willing to assist.

André Mitchell and Neville Gleeson saw to it that the Jayen Timer and Scoring ran without any glitches, in fact the event finished before the Wales vs SA match started but nobody can remember when prizegiving finished at the Lions Clubhouse in Vredendal.

Pierre van der Westhuizen the Clerk of the Course whilst Robert Marle represented MSA as Steward. Mama Bear Anette Vermaak ran Documentation with assistance from Aunty Bear Meghan Nortjé and Cub Carmen Nortjé. Start and Finish as always Dewald and Meghan Nortjé whilst André Brinkman did a stirling job as Judge of Fact.   

Do not miss the 14 November 2015 27th UNIREF Club Mykonos Langebaan Gymkhana as the championship will only be determined once the final results are printed.

Make a note! The Lions Vredendal Gymkhana will open the new gymkhana season on 12 March 2016 and will the second event is scheduled for 17 September 2016.