Pro Tour brings Drama and Excitement to Zwartkops

THE 2013 Pro Tour visited the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria, bringing spectacle and close racing to the venue on Saturday, March 23.

* Topping the day’s activities were two races for GT Challenge and GT Classic cars. The first, over 20 minutes and one lap, saw a race long fight for the lead between Deon du Plessis (X-Cars KTM Crossbow) and Nicky Dicks (Pinnacle Turbines Porsche GT3 Cup). Dicks finally took the decisive lead two laps from the end and went on to win, just more than a second ahead of Du Plessis. Behind them, Bigfoot Express Porsche GT3 team mates Andrew Culbert and Sun Moodley clashed on Zwartkops’ Table Top, with both retiring on the spot. Shortly afterwards, George Avvakoumides lost the brakes of his Ocean Basket Porsche 924 coming into the pit corner, ploughed through some 60 metres of  Zwartkops flora and hit a tyre barrier hard. All of which left Jonathan Shenkman (OCC Ferrari 430) to finish third, chased to the flag by Craig Jarvis (Panacea Porsche GT3), Willem van der Westhuizen (C3 Consulting Engineers Ferrari 360) and Oliver Dalais (Marlboro Crane Porsche GT3). Race two, over 30 minutes and a lap, saw Deon du Plessis lead from start to finish, aided in his cause when Nicky Dicks spun his Porsche by the halfway mark. Dicks recovered to finish second, with Greg Parton (Drizit Environmental KTM X-Bow) third, narrowly ahead of Jonathan Shenkman’s Ferrari. The Porsches of Craig Jarvis and Sun Moodley finished fifth and sixth, respectively. Andrie Bester (Century Civils Porsche Porsche 911) took the opening GT Classic win from Andre’ van der Merwe (Evapco Porsche RSR), Vincent Reiche (Logiman Porsche 911) and Jacques Viljoen (C3 Consulting Engineers Porsche 911). Van der Merwe won the next time out, finishing ahead of Bester and Jacques Viljoen. 

* Former South African champion Gavin Lightfoot (Pta North Toyota Kawasaki) won the opening Red Star Masters race, leading home Brian Bontekoning (Jaguar Power Kawasaki) and Johan le Roux (Avidan Kawasaki). Richard Carmody (TK Imports Kawasaki) snatched fourth place from Andre’ van Vollenstee (GM Tommy Martin Kawasaki) in the very last corner of the race. Lightfoot equaled his victory in race two, again chased by Bontekoning. This time Richard Carmody took the final podium place, ahead of Johan le Roux and Andre’ van Vollenstee.

 * Scott Temple (Ferodo Rhema 2) and Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Rhema 2) fought throughout the opening Hankook Formula Vee race. Temple eventually took the victory from Wilson by four tenths of a second. Jaco Schriks (Laser Sprint Rhema 2) finished third, leading home Gert van der Berg (Rhema 2), Peter Hills (Renexcon Rhema 2) and Symm Grobler (Auto Mecca Rhema). Temple and Wilson again diced furiously in race two, until they touched in Zwartkops’ Sweep and spun in unison at around 140 km/h. Meanwhile Jaco Schriks spun all on his own coming into the pit straight. That left Gert van den Berg to win from Peter Hills, Jaco Schriks, Symm Grobler, Scott Temple and Henk Swanepoel (Renexcon Rhema).

* Carlos Nobre (Digit VW Polo) won the FSI  class of the VW Challenge overall, ahead of Waldie Meintjies (Performance Masters Polo) and Rory Atkinson (Flight Hand Cleaner Polo). Charl Smalberger (Sabertek Polo) won Class A from Gavin Ross (Norbrake Golf). Darren Nathan ( Polo) finished first in Class B, leading Ryan Tholet (Prend Properties Polo) and Lyle Ramsay (VW Polo). Class C went to Henry van Vledder (Stuffall Golf), ahead of Jacques Smith (UTI Golf) and Francois van Zyl (VW Golf).

The next round of the 2013 Pro Tour will take place at the Western Cape Killarney circuit on Saturday, April 27.

Lindsay Steyn







GT Challenge

Hankook Formula Vee

GT Classic

RSR Superbike Masters

Volkswagen Challenge

TAG Heuer Timing – African Continent

Deon du Plessis - Winner

Scott Temple - Winner

Andre vd Merwe - Winner

Gavin Lightfoot - Winner

Carlos Nobre - Winner

The Ultimate Lap Time System