REACT is All Night

An eighteen car entry heads for the Swartland on Friday 13 April 2018 for round two of the 2018 Western Province Rally Championship and if the opening round is anything to go by the REACT CPMCC Rally Malmesbury will prove exceptional.

The 2017 Western Province Rally Championship was great, with both numbers and quality of entries raising the standards throughout the field. With the championship presenting events on varying surfaces competitors are truly tested. They have to deliver their best efforts on wet and dry gravel, tarmac and face both day and night driving before the final positions are tallied at the end of the season.

Namibian Based, Allan Martin (Walvis Bay), set a blistering pace in the J&P Hydraulics S2000 VW Polo 4x4 in the 2017 edition of the event and though he moved to the top of the driver seeding he failed to finish the event. As the second oldest motor club in South Africa the members of the Cape Peninsula Motorcycle and Car Club certainly know how to present a proper challenge and for 2018 they have opted for an event that only starts at 00h05 Saturday 14 April 2018. Six special stages totaling 82.26km and a 06h30 finish for the first crew after a total distance of 240.90km. A number of good spectator points are being planned at Wittedam (SS1 00h40 – SS4 03h45) – Wolfgat (SS2 01h46 – SS5 04h51) and Nieuwedam (SS3 02h19 – SS6 05h24), please monitor for more information.

John and Weston Peiser (Plattekloof) won the opening iKapa Reticulationa and Flow Rally Klipdale in their Speed Pro Cycling Components 425 WPMC S5 Subaru Impreza GT Turbo 2.0 4x4 but the popular father and son combination will face a stern challenge from a returning Oswaldo Mendes (Swakopmund) and Kesevan Naidoo (Kuilsrivier) in their higher specification Skyway 129 WBMK S5 Subaru Impreza WRX STi 4x4 Turbo 2.0 as well as the unknown factor of Llewellyn Jones (Somerset West) and Belgian born, Christoph Pichon (Welgemoed), in the ex-Sebastiaan Klaassen JEC 434 CPMCC S5 Subaru Impreza WRX STi 4x4 Turbo 2.0.

Ashley Haigh-Smith (Malmesbury) and his French navigator, to be announced, will lead the two wheel drive brigade in their left hand drive AHS Racing 13 CPMCC S5 Ford Fiesta R2 1600 and though this might seem an unlikely challenger to the 4x4 Turbo trio you will be advised not to underestimate this Swartland based driver. Concentrating his efforts on the French Peugeot 208 Cup Championship this is indeed a rare appearance in a regional rally and their progress will undoubtedly be watched with interest.

Defending WP Champions, Ettiene du Toit (Edgemead) and Patrick Vermaak (Strand), did not enjoy a great start to 2018 when the new engine in their Team 467 WBMK S3 Toyota Corolla RXi 1600 expired a week before the Klipdale Rally and then a change of navigator was required two days before the event. Craig Gray (Brackenfell) did a sterling job and despite all the setbacks Team 467 rescued second place overall. They are looking forward to a better weekend in the Swartland.

There is no doubt that Keenan Sassman (Monte Vista) and Clint Lingeveldt (Lansdowne) will come out guns ablaze in their Howard Centre Motors 413 CCMC S3 Toyota Corolla RXi 1600 having retired in Klipdale with a blown engine. Darren van Greunen (Bellville) and Quinton Swarts (Langebaan) impressed with a great drive in their 415 WBMK S3 Toyota Run X 1600 and they could once again prove to be a surprise package in the Swartland. Ebrahim Amlay (Grassy Park) and Ameen Snell will be coming to grips with the neat Amlay Motorsport 420 CCMCC S4 Toyota Conquest 1800 and they will be pushed hard by Riyaan Amlay  (Grassy Park) and Yasheen Amlay (Retreat) in their Ramlay Builders 433 CCMCC S3 Toyota Corolla RXi 1600. And even harder by Shaheen Amlay (Kensington) and Ibraheem Amlay (Retreat) in the Amlay Motorsport 402 CCMCC S4 Toyota Tazz 1600. A question mark with respect to class as the 1600 should be in S3. Their regular Amlay Motorsport 402 CCMCC S4 Toyota Run X 1800 unfortunately not ready after having blown an engine on the final stage of the Klipdale Rally.

Faizal Davids and Terry Croy return in their 422 CCMCC S3 Toyota Corolla RXi 1600 and would want to match the pace of Ismaeel Davids and Yusuf Ganief in their ID Paving 431 CCMCC S3 Toyota Corolla RXi 1600 with Trevor Hodges (Ottery) and Ian Thebus (Edgemead) never shy on pace in the Swartland with their 421 CCMCC S4 VW Golf MkIII GTi 2.0 16v. Julian Calvert (Goodwood) and Marius Rudolph (Bothasig) in the ever reliable and consistent Lulu , alias Team 409 CCMCC S3 VW Golf GTi 2.0 8v, once again aiming for a good result.

In class S2 Tariq Khatib and Faiz Idas, 412 CCMCC S2 VW Golf MkI 1.6 face a new challenger with Matthew Köhler and Wendy Mitchell set make their debut in a similar 400 CCMCC S2 VW Golf MkI Citi 1.4i. Weather is currently predicted to be 15ºC with a 2m/s South Easterly wind and clear skies and a  half moon from 00h33.

If you want to be part of the action join the event from the Malmesbury Rugby Clubhouse on Friday night 13 April 2018 where documentation and scrutineering will be taking place from 21h00. Spectator guides will be available on