Subaru reigns

John and Weston Peiser are masters at pacing themselves slow enough to win rallies and great mechanical sympathy sees this popular father-and-son combination achieve stunning results. Much to their own surprise they started the 9SS event in dominant fashion on Friday 7 October 2016, winning six consecutive  special stages and simply doing enough on the final three stages to maintain their advantage, winning without breaking a sweat in the Speed Pro Cycling Equipment S5 WPMC Subaru Impreza 4x4 Turbo. Posting identical times in SS5 and SS6 proof of just how well this combination works.

Shaun Jones and Craig Gray had more than overall victory to consider in their S5 CPMCC Subaru Impreza WRX 4x4 Turbo and holding back is something Shaun must have found agonising as he would much rather be going flatout throughout. In fact they were treading so lightly they did not win a single stage, but instead walked away as the deserved 2016 Western Province Rally Champions.

Keenan Sassman and Llewellyn van Greunen were on a mission from SS7 and posted three stage victories enroute to a fighting third overall in their S3 Toyota Corolla RXi 1.6. Fourth was a superb result for Rupert van Zyl and Marius Rudolph in their neatly reborn Die Hollandse Motor Spesialis S4 WBMK VW Golf MkII GTi. André Cleenwerck and Justin Gay coming to grips with their rapid S3 VW Polo 1.6 to finish fifth and in sixth spot the unique Madev S4 WBMK Datsun GX Sedan of Herman Mathee and Ruan Reynders. The first combination home utilising only gravel rally tyres for the entire event.

Ismaeel Davids and Quinton Swarts are starting to find pace in the Extreme Contracting S3 CCMCC Toyota Corolla RXi 1.6 but pace equals more pressure to do things right and a few costly mistakes dropped them to seventh. Faizal Davids and Ridwaan Nordien eighth in the second Extreme Contracting S3 CCMCC Toyota Corolla RXi 1.6. Riyaan Amlay and Rafick Mia ninth in the ex-Marko Himmel S3 CCMCC Toyota Corolla RXI 1.6 and another combination that now have the means to become very competitive. The Corolla RXi entries certainly showing huge potential in the Western Cape.    

Tarmac is all about power, pace and commitment. Living on the edge simply is not always enough and Paul van Wyk and Tiaan Rabe had to be satisfied with tenth overall in their acciDent Guru S3 WBMK VW Golf MkI 2.0 8v. It simply lacked the grunt required to finish higher in the field. Trevor Hodges and Ian Thebus eleventh in the S4 CCMCC VW Golf III followed by Ian Long and Brian Hoskins in their hard charging acciDent Guru S2 WPMC VW Golf Citi 1.5.

Andy Haigh-Smith and Kevin Aldridge ever consistent in the AHI Racing S3 CPMCC Mitsubishi Lancer GT1600 with Anthony Connelly and Shawn Nefdt fourteenth in their S4 VW Polo 2.0. The final classified finishers in 15th spot overall was Brenton Crow and Theo Croy in the acciDent Guru S3 VW Golf MkI 2.0 8v of Piet Bakkes. Brenton built this car in record time and wisely decided not to test his own abilities at breaking that rebuild record by keeping his nose clean throughout the rally.

This is an annual Challenge between Track and Rally and it comes as no surprise that Dirk Snr and Dirk Jnr Kruger topped the track result with the class B WPMC Toyota Corolla. Had these results been combined the father-and-son combination would have finished ina brilliant second place overall. Lance Arendse and Jean Masua second on track in their Van Niekerk Racing class C WPMC BMW 325i and Lammie and Carin Kotzé the final track finishers in their class B WPMC Ford Fiesta.

Abduraghman Amlay was the most stressed team manager at Killarney as two of his sons were driving in the event whilst he was also back behind the wheel of the Amlay Motorsport S3 CCMCC Toyota Avanté. Shaheen Amlay and Yusuf Ganief added a touch of grey when they attacked the old pitlane in the Amlay Motorsport S4 CCMCC Toyota Run X RSi. Wall 1 – Run X 0. Abduraghman and Tahier Amlay then nose dived the Avanté into retirement with a broken gearbox casing.

Robin and Simon Benjamin quite literally brought the roof down of one of the pit garages when they tried to remove the side wall in their Southfield Auto Electrical class B VW Golf MkI track entry whilst Francoise Groenewald and Jaco van Zyl was even less fortunate when complete brake failure forced them into (quite literally) the MSA office with their normally very neat Datsun GX Coupe. Driver suffering a broken leg and ankle but as they say in the classics – they will be back! Jason and Wayne Webb also trimming their Nissan 200SX drifter down in size against the same wall that claimed the Amlay Run X.

The annual All tar Rally living up to it’s reputation as possibly the most demanding event, requiring intense concentration and simply no room for error.

2017 holds much promise as two ex-works Nissan Skyline entries are expected to return to the fray with two Ford Escort MkII’s and a rwd Toyota Corolla or two being prepared. Not the fastest or most efficient, but nothing looks and feels better on gravel than a rear wheel driven rally car!