W.P.M.C. Short Circuit race report: Round 3, 13 April 2013

The third round of the Short Circuit championship took place in hot and sunny weather conditions, without a breath of wind, making it hard work for officials and competitors alike.


The Bikers’ Delight CBR150 Club class was dominated by Alex van der Berg, who sauntered to a comfortable triple victory over his rivals – his first clean sweep of his fledgling career.  Kewyn Snyman impressed all with his third and two runner-up finishes, earning him the “Rider of the Day” accolade.  Ayden van Rooyen claimed two podium finishes to mark his return to the class, finishing second, fourth and third in the three races, respectively.


Tony Sterianos continued his dominance in the CBR150 Masters class, winning all three races comfortably despite the best intentions of Kallie van der Berg and Paul Linaker.  Van der Berg claimed one fourth and two second places, while Linaker claimed a second and two third place finishes, respectively.  Austin Boden also showed well, taking a podium finish in Race 1 and making his rivals sit up and take notice.


The Dico Auto Electrical Formula M class may have fielded the smallest number of competitors, but it produced the most drama, with an intense rivalry developing between reigning double champion Ryno Pentz and Dee-Jay  Booysen.  The two clashed in the first two races, with Pentz tagging the left rear wheel of Booysen in what can be termed as a racing incident under braking for the first “bus stop” chicane, leaving Pentz to take victory.  The second clash was in the same area, but Booysen tried to force the issue by swooping around the outside of Pentz and force him to give way.  The move failed and Booysen went straight over the chicane, damaging his machine in the process.  Again, this left Pentz to romp to victory.  Pentz won Race 3 at a canter from Rheza Miller and Booysen.  Arno Hougaard had a torrid day, with his machine dumping oil all over the circuit, leaving him to borrow a vehicle and struggle to a fourth and third place finish in the first two races, retiring in the final race.


The Honda NSF100 category officially got underway at this event, following the demonstration races at the previous race meeting.  Calvin Rowley officially became the first rider to take victory in this class in Cape Town, the gangly rider winning comfortably from Jarryd Butler and Noah Isaacs.  Rowley blotted his copybook by jumping the start in Race 2, leaving Butler to take victory from the diminutive Richard Slamet Jr and Isaacs.  Slamet did a sterling job to pull out a sizeable lead over Rowley and Butler in the extended third race, only for it to be stopped and declared a result after a heavy fall from Jessica van der Walt at R.O.S.E. sweep.  Thankfully, the young lady escaped relatively unscathed.


Mark Conyers controlled the three races in the Shifters and Superkart category to claim three victories on the day, with Muneer Salie always in the hunt with a third place and two runners-up finishes, claiming overall honours in the Shifter class in the process.  Mansur Enus showed well with a fourth, third and fifth place finishes in the three races, respectively, while Astrid Huckstedt performed strongly to two top five finishes in Race 2 and 3.


The Super Mono and Super Single classes produced personal battles for supremacy in each category, with Jimmy Pantony (one second, two first places) managing to overcome the challenge presented by Alan Westman (one first, two second places) in the Super Mono category, while Tony Sterianos managed to take all three victories in the Super Singles category (and third on the road), despite spirited challenges from Ryan Kat in all three races.  Paul Linaker showed well by finishing third in the Super Singles category in all three races.


The fourth round of the Short Circuit club championships takes place on 4 May 2013.


Nick van der Meulen