CPMCC Swartland Rally - PBV

It is not over yet!

Lewellyn Jones (Somerset West) and Christophé Pichon (Welgemoed) lived up to expectations by dominating the CPMCC Swartland Rally, winning all eight stages enroute to an emphatic victory in their CEJ Plant Hire 434 CPMCC S5 Subaru Impreza STi WRX 2.0 Turbo AWD. Four consecutive victories have pulled them right back into contention for the 2019 Western Cape Rally Championship despite having missed the opening round.

Who will it be?

With the 2019 Western Cape Rally Championship drawing to a close the penultimate round of the series will undoubtedly prove testing to all wanting to stake a claim on either a class championship or the coveted overall championship.

Datsun Parade

Acknowledging 90 years is quite a challenge. Having his first racing car present was indeed very moving and to many viewing the 81 year BMW was an unexpected bonus.

Ewold van Bergen will however always remain a Datsun / Nissan legend. He drove his Datsun 310 at Monte Carlo before most of the current motorsport supporters were even born and that was after he had become the 1st South African rally drivers champion in 1960!

The Van Bergen legend

The oldest surviving Springbok in motorsport, Ewold van Bergen, and the only female rally Springbok, Minota-Ann van Bergen, accepted an invitation by the Western Province Motor Club to attend the sixth round of the regional championship Wingfield Motors Power Series at the Killarney International raceway on Saturday 10 August 2019.

Syndicate content